Chief Joseph Pass

A 5 stars road to Chief Joseph Pass in the Rocky Mountains

Chief Joseph Pass is a high mountain pass at an elevation of 2.218m (7,276ft) above the sea level, located on the Montana-Idaho border, in the northwestern United States.

Where is Chief Joseph Pass?

Set high in the Bitterroot Mountains on the Continental Divide of the Rocky Mountains, and surrounded by the Beaverhead-Deerlodge and Bitterroot National Forests, the pass links Lemhi County (in Idaho) and Beaverhead County (in Montana).

Can you drive to Chief Joseph Pass?

The road to the summit is totally paved. It’s called Montana State Highway 43. The pass is 42km (26.1 miles) long, running east-west from Wisdom (in Beaverhead County, Montana) to Lost Trail Pass. The pass was named after Chief Joseph who traversed the pass in 1877 during the Nez Perce War. Chief Joseph Pass is a scenic thoroughfare surrounded by picturesque peaks and two national forests, providing excellent views and outdoor fun. Open to traffic throughout the year, may be closed for short periods in winter when the weather is bad. The road is steep, hitting an 8.62% through some of the ramps.



Pin It

To use information contained on this site is to do so at your own risk. is not responsible for the information contained in these pages. The website is for information purposes only and we assume no liability for decisions made as a result of the information provided here. You are still completely responsible for your decisions, your actions, and your safety.